Home > Myself, Weight loss > Weight loss reboot

Weight loss reboot

Heh… the last time I wrote a post on this blog was in August of last year. I was really motivated but then it just fizzled out and too many things got in the way. I did a half-hearted try at following the slow carb diet from the 4 Hour Body book, but that didn’t last very long. I don’t really know why I stopped. A few minutes ago I took out my measuring tape and compared it to the numbers I posted here the last time. On a whim I decided to get back to posting about this. Here are the numbers.

Age: 32
Height: 180 cm (5’11’)
Weight: 109 kg (240.3 lbs)
Hips: 117 cm (46.1 in)
Waist: 107 cm (42.1 in)
Chest: 116 cm (45.7 in)
Left thigh: 64 cm (25.2 in)
Right thigh: 65 cm (25.6 in)
Left bicep: 37 cm (14.6 in)
Right bicep: 38 cm (15 in)

One thing that became obvious to me was that I had measured my thighs wrong. I had used the wrong end of the tape. I did it right this time and concluded that these are the numbers my thighs should have been at last year. That means that my thighs haven’t magically shrunk by A LOT.

I’m encouraged by the numbers because I haven’t really made an effort to eat healthy this year. It’s been the same old thing where I limit myself sometimes and go nuts with too much shitty food on other days. A mixed bag, as usual. But I’m still a little bit smaller than in August.

I talked to my brother about motivation and weight loss a few days ago. He had some clothes that were too big for him so he gave them to me. A few running shorts and shirts, a suit jacket and a complete suit. The suit and suit jacket are too small for me right now, but they are definitely within reach. I’ve also gone through some stuff in my own closet just to motivate me. I’ve consciously kept a lot of things that have been too small for me for a couple of years just because I want to have that as motivation. Obviously it hasn’t worked… yet. I don’t know how to get to that point where I’m really going but I think it’s because I have quite a few goals inside my head that I want to reach and sometimes it becomes overwhelming for me. I should just simplify my approach, which is easier said than done, but I have to try.

I’m putting up a few loose ground rules for myself. They won’t be hard rules because I can bullshit my way past those anyway. That means that if I break them here and there it won’t be a big deal, but if I do it consistently I’m going to guilt trip myself.
– No more candy or snack binges. Sometimes I buy way too much shit that tastes good the first few bites and then I associate the rest with guilt even if it also tastes good. So if I’m buying crap I’ll just buy less of it and ride that first wave I get from it.
– More cooking from scratch. I’ve always been pretty good at cooking most of my own food. The last six months I’ve gone back to a lot of premade meatballs and other stuff like that. On my birthday I got a grill pan and a wok pan and I want to use them for more proper cooking because it’s fun and it also tastes better.
– Find good sites and apps that help me on my way. I’ve kinda sorta used fatsecret.com and Runkeeper. I should use them more. I might go back to using Flickr for food pictures again. It’s just a matter of routines.
– More casaual runs. I went out on my first run of the season a couple of days ago. Going for another one tonight. I mapped out my route and apparently it’s something like 3.1 km. Another variant that I’ve done a bunch of times is roughly 5.2 km. So I’m doing the 3k run a few times until my legs are going and I can do the 5k for a while.

So yeah… motivation while keeping things simple. That’s the key, I think. Gotta get into that suit and all the other clothes in my closet, right?

  1. 29 April, 2013 at 02:01

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the layout
    of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content
    so people could connect with it better. Youve got
    an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images. Maybe you could
    space it out better?

    • 29 April, 2013 at 02:08

      Thank you!

      Perhaps I could change the layout. I haven’t really looked at blog layouts in … well, several years :P I think I picked this one because I thought it worked well with text-heavy posts.

      I’m so intermittent with my blogging so often it goes months between posts. I guess I could add some more pictures to give some breathing room to the posts.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

