Home > Games, Lists > Dakkster’s Top 300 Games, 300-276

Dakkster’s Top 300 Games, 300-276

Alright, I’m all done with the rankings, I think. Let’s give this a shot. My reasoning behind the rankings can be found here. Nostalgia overload in 3, 2, 1…

300: Sim City (Amiga 500) – Starting off with the city simulator that eventually spawned the virtual dollhouse The Sims, I didn’t really understand what was needed to build successful cities, but it was fun to build what I could and then destroy it with the various disasters you could use.

299: Dogs of War (Amiga 500) – I was going through a phase that made Schwarzenegger and Stallone cool, so the ability to buy guns and ammo in this game made it really exciting when I was young.

298: Star Tropics (NES) – An adventure that was really entertaining and should’ve gotten more praise than it got, especially now with the benefit of hindsight. I loved the jumping puzzles.

297: Alien 3 (SNES) – Was nothing like the movie, but maybe that’s what made it so awesome? The weapons were great, felt a lot like the ones in the movie Aliens.

296: James Pond 2 (Amiga 500) – This bouncy fish made platforming really fun, the graphics were awesome back in the day.

295: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (NES) – Yes, the first one, even though it was horrendously difficult. It was still a Turtles game and the Turtles were king when I was a kid. The swimming levels were insanely difficult and I remember trying to avoid the baddies with the turtle van. I heard that a friend of mine actually beat this game a few weeks ago during one of his retro gaming sessions.

294: Moto Racer (PC) – One of the first racing games I really liked and if I’m not mistaken, you could ride dirt bikes as well as racing bikes. It had a great sense of speed to it.

293: B.O.B. (SNES) – Really underrated puzzle/shooter with a great main character and lots of humor. This is a game that should be on most people’s lists of games to play if the decide to take on some retro games.

292: Premier Manager (Amiga 500) – I used to play this with my cousin and we almost always started off from scratch every weekend we spent playing it. I didn’t really understand all of it, but it was pretty fun being a soccer manager. Later versions got too bloated with stuff to do, I think.

291: Goonies 2 (NES) – I’ve tried the first one, but this one was much better. Really fun game with interesting puzzles.

290: Soldier of Fortune (PC) – This game was really raw, but I never really went for the gore. Still, it was a pretty solid shooter. It’s interesting to look back at this. They tried some narrative, but it was beyond horrible and they might just as well have done random maps.

289: Sensible World of Soccer (Amiga 500) – Another soccer game I played with my cousin. Blazing fast action that had a really steep learning curve, but once you got the hang of it, you could do insane things on the pitch.

288: Dark Colony (PC) – This RTS was a game that kind of rode on the success of Command & Conquer and Warcraft, but it had its own thing going for it. Playing as the grays was fun because it was released during the heyday of the X-Files.

287: Ikari Warriors (NES) – ABBA. That’s the cheat code that gave you a bunch of extra lives… or if it was invulnerability. Anyhow, it was kind of a Rambo bullet hell shooter that was pretty fun to play with a friend.

286: Rick Dangerous (Amiga 500) – Wannabe Indiana Jones with the biggest chin you’ll find outside of Jay Leno’s. Room-by-room puzzler and I remember the screams standing out in particular.

285: Double Dragon 3 (NES) – This one was really hard compared to the second one, but it was cool in that it had other characters than just the brothers. Nice beat’em up.

284: Shadowgate (NES) – This game was released in Swedish over here and the translation was quirky in some places, but that just made it all the more fun. I don’t remember if I beat it or not, but I got far without any help. GameFAQs wasn’t around back then anyway.

283: Soldier of Fortune 2 (PC) – Sequel to the first one, duh, but it was still mindless shooting. Okay action with prettier graphics this time.

282: Need for Speed Carbon (PC) – I didn’t really play this one, but I watched my nephew play it A LOT with me sitting next to him. Probably the most atmospheric racing game I’ve come across so far, even with the hammy acting performances.

281: Duck Hunt (NES) – That goddamn dog has a special place in hell waiting for him. Fun game, though.

280: Fifa 96 (SNES) – There was this trick that you could do whenever there was a goal kick. You just moved your attacker to stand right in front of the goalie and you’d spam the kick button. As soon as the kick was made, your attacker made an instant bicicleta or header to score. Cheap, yes, but fun.

279: Desert Strike (Amiga 500) – Back when I was a kid, this was one of the coolest games around, mainly because Rambo 3 had made helicopters bad ass. It’s a good action game with surprisingly good controls.

278: Killing Time (PC) – This could be the most obscure game on the list. It’s a budget FPS that I played with my nephew and it’s pretty much a more action-oriented Rose Red (the Stephen King story) with ghosts and a haunted manor to run around in. Hammy as hell, but really fun.

277: Rescue – The Embassy Mission (NES) – Also known as Hostage on the Amiga, I think. This game had three fun parts. Sneaking, sniping and room-clearing. I loved the sneaking part, but it was all pretty good. Really tense action.

276: Spy vs Spy (Amiga 500) – This one is a classic and I think I played two sequels as well. You ran around in a maze of rooms trying to outsmart the other spy and get out of the place, using traps and other sneak stuff that usually backfired because you forgot that you had boobytrapped a door.

Okay, so that’s the first batch of 25. I’ll do seven more parts like this, I think, and then it’s ten parts or so for the top 100. I love lists and I’d love to hear what you think about this first part, so let me know in the comments!

  1. Rich
    18 May, 2010 at 07:37

    It’s good to see someone’s actually including Amiga 500 games in their list for once – I’m expecting to see some more classics here in the coming weeks.
    For example :
    Speedball 2, The Chaos Engine, Lemmings, Shadow of the Beast, Cannon Fodder.

    What current console are you using these days? Xbox 360? PS3? Wii?

    • 18 May, 2010 at 17:38

      I played Amiga games at my cousin’s place because he owned the system. Because of that I couldn’t always spend as much time as I would’ve liked with all the games. Speedball 2 was a game that I never got the hang of and The Chaos Engine came after I had played most of the games I’d play on the system. Lemmings will be making an appearance… both the first and second ones if I’m not mistaken. I didn’t like Shadow of the Beast and Cannon Fodder is definitely on the list 🙂 There will be others popping up here and there.

      Right now I have a 360 and I will probably get a PS3 whenever my salary supports it, as I’m trying to find a steady job right now instead of just doing substitute work. I play some Wii with one of my friends at his place, but I really don’t like it that much, plus there are too few quality hardcore games to support my interest in the system. I also play some PC games, both bigger ones (Dragon Age at the moment) and smaller ones, some indie games.

  2. 19 May, 2010 at 22:40

    I have not played all of the games, but here’s some thoughts, as you go through your list, on some of the games I have played over the years…

    I also never really understood how to create awesome cities in Sim City, but it sure was fun settling loose Earthquakes and Twisters on the poorly built cities that I had.

    TMNT for NES was a total time sucker for me and a couple friends back in the day. It was crazy hard to play (though there are harder that I hope you get to!), but a ton of fun for us who enjoyed the shows.

    I used cheat codes on Dark Colony and finished it all almost in one sitting and never played it again.

    Tinkered with Shadowgate but never caught onto the RPG style of games at that point in my life.

    Duck Hunt — ugh.

    Desert Strike was AWESOME! – though I think I played it for SEGA. My memory might be wrong there.

    • 22 May, 2010 at 00:38

      Yeah, I played Desert Strike on Sega as well, a while later. The platforms I mention are just the ones I played the games on first/mostly.

  3. metaldude26
    27 May, 2010 at 08:13

    Amiga was before my time but I dug this list none the less. Very surprised to see Duck Hunt so early on your list but perhaps that’s because that game has sentimental value as it’s the first game I ever owned.

    • 27 May, 2010 at 19:01

      Duck Hunt is fun… for about ten minutes. It’s way too one-sided, plus I hate that smug dog with a passion 🙂

  1. 3 January, 2011 at 00:57

Leave a Reply

