Home > Games, Lists > Dakkster’s Top 300 Games, prelude

Dakkster’s Top 300 Games, prelude

Late last year, I started working on a list of my favorite games; specifically, my list of the top 100 games I’ve played. I’ve played a lot of games in my time, arguably too many, and I figured that I shouldn’t just be listing them off the top of my head. That’s why I started going through tons of “top games” lists by other people and publications. I then went through lists of games sorted by genre on Wikipedia and sites like that. I tried to cover every base to avoid missing a single game. I wanted this to be my be-all, end-all list of games.

This had a couple of effects.

1. I realized that I’ve missed out on some great games. I might not have played them at all or I might have started them but never played enough to get a real impression of them. Whatever the case, I should’ve tried them. These games will go on a separate list.

2. I realized that there are a bunch of games that are considered top notch but I don’t like at all. I haven’t decided on when I should publish that list, but I will put it up here.

3. I realized that I want to cover more than 100 games. My first listing by platform was about 300 games long and I don’t really want to leave any of them out.

So 300 games is how long my list will be. I have played through most of them properly or spent enough time on them so that I can give them a fair assessment. As for commentary, I still haven’t decided on whether or not I should write a blurb on every game or just the top 100 or something. We’ll see. I’m almost done with the sorting, just a few more touches to make before I’m happy with it, then I will start publishing it, starting with games 300 and counting down. So far I’ve realized that my top 10 is a bitch to rank and I need to decide on which one is my all-time favorite. But that’s all part of the challenge, right?

The basic rule that I’ve tried to follow when ranking this is how much fun I’ve had with the games or how engrossed I’ve been by them. Something along those lines. This is NOT my attempt at trying to dictate what games are best or worst or anything like that, because that is just silly. It all comes down to taste and I’ve had great fun with games that were considered shitty by a lot of people. This is my nostalgia here. I’ve also tried to not look at the games from a critical standpoint of today, which is to say that I haven’t thought “how would this game hold up today?”. I browsed through some videos to refresh my memory about certain games, but then I found that it skewed my initial thoughts about them.

I will do a bit of fine tuning and then I will start publishing the list, probably with at least a small blurb for each game. Then as I approach the top, the blurbs will most likely get longer. I’ll try to include screenshots or other pictures whenever I can. Oh yeah, and the format in parenthesis next to each title is just the platform I played it on.

Categories: Games, Lists Tags: ,
  1. boro
    5 November, 2010 at 11:52

    Very nice list indeed.

    I i might add something: here goes:
    1. Prehistoric1&2
    2. Logical
    3. The Incredible Machine
    4. Electro Body
    5. Myth

    Cheers

    Boro

  1. 17 May, 2010 at 15:21
  2. 17 May, 2010 at 18:52
  3. 3 September, 2010 at 03:32

Leave a Reply

