Home > Games, Lists > Dakkster’s Top 300 Games, 125-101

Dakkster’s Top 300 Games, 125-101

It’s high time I get down below the hundreds, so here we are with the last few games before we get there.

125: Splinter Cell (PC) – The first adventure with Sam Fisher and this was a revelation to me when it was released. I’d always loved the narrative maturity of the Tom Clancy games and this one was no different. You really felt like a ghost sneaking around and taking guys out, but you had to be a ninja, because if you got several guys after you, you were pretty much toast.

124: Geometry Wars: Evolved 2 (Xbox 360) – I didn’t like the first one at all, I thought the learning curve was way too steep. When this was released I was a bit hesitant, but trying out the different game modes sold me on it. What I love about this game is the combined frantic and calm nature that comes with it. There can be a hundred things happening on the screen and in all that chaos, you succeed the most when you stay calm and learn how to prioritize among the targets while figuring out how to move.

123: Final Fantasy Tactics Advance (Gameboy Advance) – The amount of time you can sink into this kind of turn-based strategy RPG is mindblowing and I have a friend who’s been almost religious about this genre. Myself, I got about halfway through the storyline while building my team. It’s really addicting trying to plan out how you want your guys to develop.

122: Super Mario 64 (Nintendo 64) – I think this is the only N64 game I’ve got on the list because I was never a fan of that console. I did, however, love playing Super Mario 64. It’s been said countless times, but this was the first game that really brought solid 3D platforming controls to gaming. This had everything we all love about the Mario games. Incredibly solid platforming while moving the genre forward. It was just plain fun to play.

121: Diablo 2 (PC) – For the longest time I regarded the original Diablo to be the better game, mainly because it annoyed me that the sequel had you playing in the desert and in the jungle. Those were very un-Diablo-like areas. Still, the game was a lot of fun to play with other people. I didn’t, however, get completely stuck in grinding that some of my friends thought was so much fun. I just thought it was a fun hack and slash. And no, it is no RPG. I hate it when people label it as that.

120: StarCraft (PC) – More Blizzard. I think this was the last RTS I really played extensively. The reason why is because one of my friends got insanely hooked on it and beat the rest of us with no problem. That made me go “huh… so I suck at this… fuck it” and I spent most of my time playing action games from then on. The music still gives me chills and I’m actually curious about the sequel. First time in over a decade that I’m curious about an RTS.

119: Day of Defeat (PC) – Woohoo, even more WW2 shooting. However, this time it’s not some bland single player campaign, so that doesn’t matter. Day of Defeat was the WW2 response to Counter-Strike and it was a lot of fun to play.

118: Rainbow Six Vegas 2 (Xbox 360) – This was a tricky one to rank. On one hand there were many gameplay improvements over the first R6 Vegas, but on the other the story and environments were quite uninspiring. I had a lot of fun with it, especially in co-op, both in story and terrorist hunt, but in the end the game was too bland to get a higher ranking.

117: Batman (NES) – Badass. That’s what this game is. I haven’t sunk my teeth into Batman: Arkham Asylum yet, but I hear it’s the best Batman game ever. Well, before that, this game held that honor. It has it all. Great action, tight controls, awesome music and more atmosphere than 50 other NES games put together.

116: Blood (PC) – One gadget I used to dominate the multiplayer games between me and my friends was the crystal ball. With it I could camp at a spot while I saw the perspective of another player. Then when he was in a good, vulnerable spot, I’d pounce on him and take him out. Worked all the time. The voodoo doll weapon was fun too and Caleb is one of the more memorable one-liner-spewing main characters in any game. Everything brought to us by the good old Build engine.

115: Super Monkey Ball (GameCube) – Monkey Target. That’s all I should have to say here. The minigame that stole the thunder from the regular gameplay. My friends and I spent a lot of time on that, gliding towards the different target zones. We also spent a lot of time playing Monkey Fight, which was very brutal in a cute and fun way. But seriously, this game should be played for Monkey Target alone.

114: Civilization 2 (PC) – Oldie but goldie and a lot of fun in multiplayer, provided you have a lot of time on your hands. I haven’t really sat down with any of the sequels, but I’ve wanted to. If only I had more time… but Civ is always Civ and this classic series was a mammoth early on. I remember one of my friends having the huuuuge manual that came with the original game. You could kill people with that brick.

113: Castlevania: Symphony of the Night (Xbox 360) – I know this was originally released on the PlayStation, but I never had one of those and played this the first time on Xbox Live Arcade. I really like it, but some of the sequels on the GBA and the DS have been improved on greatly. Some of the funniest moments in gaming are the voiceovers the few times there is dialogue happening.

112: Fahrenheit (PC) – Any game that contains necrophilia has to be good, right? No, it’s not THAT sick. It’s actually fairly romantic necrophilia. Okay, seriously, this game is fantastic for the first three quarters and then it just tanks in a mess of mysticism and weirdness. Before that it is a great detective game with great narrative. The European version wasn’t censored, so we got the love scenes and some other weirdness. It was called Indigo Prophecy in North America.

111: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 3: The Manhattan Project (NES) – I remember getting this on one of those Japanese import cartridges and what I loved the most about it was that the turtles actually had individual special moves. I liked Michaelangelo’s the most, the way he’d catapult himself up in the air, taking any foot soldiers along with him.

110: Rock Band 2 (Xbox 360) – Multiplayer music! This is just plain fun, although I can’t play the drums worth a damn. But I can still sing and play guitar πŸ™‚ It’s a bitch to do both at the same time if you don’t know the lyrics and melody by heart.

109: MDK (PC) – Murder Death Kill is what I heard this stands for when it came out. It’s one of the more unique games I’ve played, an interesting mix of shooting, platforming, style and humor. One of those that I wish could get a fresh coat of paint for the current generation of consoles.

108: MechCommander (PC) – Ah, yes, BattleTech. This is an awesome strategy game, especially when you get down to the nitty-gritty of how to build mechs and stuff like that. It doesn’t have the prettiest graphics, but I still think it’s a solid game to pull out from time to time. It’s a real thrill to take down a MadCat with a few lighter mechs.

107: Odium (PC) – This was also released as Gorky 17 and I think the developers are Polish. It’s a semi-weird game that gave me a lot of Fallout vibes because of the grid- and turnbased combat while telling a scary story about covert mutations by the Russian army or something like that.

106: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 4: Turtles in Time (SNES) – This is one of the funniest multiplayer games I know. It’s a pretty fast run to go through the whole game along with someone else and the action is as good as it gets on consoles for a turtle lover.

105: Star Wars: Jedi Knight 2: Jedi Outcast (PC) – The best Star Wars game I’ve had the priviledge to play. Going through the game, plowing through hordes of stormtroopers with ease was fun, yes, but not exactly earthshattering. Then, when you started facing off against other opponents with lightsabers and force powers, guys that were not bosses, the game took a turn and got very tense, because you could stumble upon one of these guys at any turn. Taking on three or four at once was so damn fun.

104: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. (PC) – Another game that just oozes atmosphere. It’s a bit slow in the beginning when you don’t have any equipment at all, but then it really gets going, especially when you start moving past the halfway point. I had a lot of fun with this and it was both good action as well as scary during some parts of it. Too bad it was quite buggy.

103: Stunts (PC) – I don’t know how many tracks I made for this game. The thing is, I didn’t really make them so they could be standard racing tracks. No, I wanted to break the game and find loopholes. Take a long straight road heading right towards a hill and then at the top of the hill, put a big ramp, then see what happens. I was able to make the game get my car driving upside down and mirrored, so if I pressed the left arrow key, it turned right. A lot of fun.

102: Metroid Zero Mission (Gameboy Advance) – I never got myself to play through the entire game of Metroid and I had to hunt for this game for a long time before I could find it at an affordable price, but boy was it worth it. Adding the last part of the game was a genius move and made you appreciate the suit even more.

101: Bionic Commando (Xbox 360) – At first, when I started playing this, I really didn’t think that much of it. The controls felt clunky and you couldn’t really do much. However, at some point during the game, I got the hang of the controls and some of the added abilities really made the game fun. Even though the story is as cheesy as they come (most ridiculous plot twist ever), the action is just so damn solid. It’s incredibly entertaining to swing around like some weird monkey while really kicking a lot of ass.Β  This game was a pleasant surprise.

Alright, all done with the first 200 games of this list. From now on I will post ten games per post. What do you think so far?

  1. lockedge
    12 June, 2010 at 03:11

    STUNTS. Someone else who has played STUNTS πŸ˜€ I LOVED that game. Although it was way too easy to win if you wanted to. Just circle around the start/finish line and cross through it and it counts that as another lap. :/
    But the track creator was/is intense. Those corkscrews would ruin me when I was younger.

    Blood was a solid game too. I had a lot of fun with it.

    Stalker, once patched, and with the addition of Mods, is exceptional. Too bad it was rushed out the gate, and they had to make two more games with the same engine and minimal uphauls to make up for the losses in production. Wonderful game, freaked the crap out of me at times.

    Rock Band 2 = Love.
    Batman = Love.
    Any NES/SNES era TMNT game is totally worthy of this list….well, except the fighting game.

    Super Monkey Ball was one of the most fun games on the Gamecube. I fondly recall playing 4 player splitscreen races on a 13″ television, and the mayhem of honestly not being able to see your character in about half the stages, from the distance of the couch. πŸ˜„

    • 12 June, 2010 at 15:50

      Stunts was sooooooooooooo much fun πŸ™‚ But as I said, I didn’t really race, I had a lot more fun messing around or trying to build a track that the AI couldn’t handle.

      I intend to replay NES Batman fairly soon on emulator. That game is so badass.

  2. 12 June, 2010 at 10:28

    So far I think you’re a huge geek. πŸ™‚

    • 12 June, 2010 at 13:59

      And I can always trust you to post lame comments…

      • 12 June, 2010 at 17:58

        Oh come on, it was a smΓΆrpass, I had to take the shot.

  3. 12 June, 2010 at 14:55

    I never finished Splinter Cell, but I liked it more than I thought I would.

    Starcraft was a game I played off and on from the time it came out until just a few years ago. It’s one of those games that I was able to at least keep up with some of the better players (not the insane South Korean pro players obviously), and yet there was still so much further to get in it in terms of skill. Simply phenomenal game.

    I enjoyed the first Rock Band, but it was Guitar Hero 1 and 2 that sucked most of my time. Since then I have not played the ‘Band’ series very much, though I hear the newest one is going to have a keyboard?

    • 12 June, 2010 at 15:55

      When Splinter Cell came, I’d gone through the first two Thief games and the Rainbow Six games on PC, so I was very excited that a Tom Clancy sneaking game was coming out. The only game in the series that I haven’t finished yet is Double Agent, but I’m going to do that on the Xbox 360 at some point. I haven’t really sunk my teeth into the Metal Gear Solid games, but that’s for another blog post πŸ™‚

      I’ve watched some videos from Starcraft league matches in South Korea and what they are capable of is simply mindblowing. Completely unreal.

      I’ve played Guitar Hero more than I’ve played Rock Band, but I think Rock Band is the more fun experience because of the co-operation. Plus, when Guitar Hero released World Tour, I thought Rock Band was better on the whole, so… yeah, RB3 will get a keyboard and also guitars with real strings, or something like that. They’ll have a pro mode or something, which sounds interesting.

    • 14 June, 2010 at 03:14

      Oops, apparently I forgot that I had GH2 higher on the list than Rock Band 2. Only fair considering the amount of time I’ve spent on GH2 πŸ™‚

  4. 16 June, 2010 at 09:36

    Yessss.. Star Craft rules! Ah, it is good remembering my youth. Btw, does 2nd have been released yet? Should leave my cubical once a while to follow the update

  1. 3 January, 2011 at 00:57
  2. 12 April, 2011 at 07:02

Leave a Reply

