Home > Games, Lists > Dakkster’s Top 300 Games, 70-61

Dakkster’s Top 300 Games, 70-61

Not in a writing mood, but might as well push through it and get down to 61 on the list. I’ve had a few chaotic weeks, emotionally, but it’s best to push that aside and try to accomplish something, even if that’s just a small thing such as writing a nostalgia-filled list. Let’s go!

70: Portal (PC) – When this game came out I didn’t fall for it instantly. I had to play it through a second time to really appreciate all the good things it offers. It was revolutionary and re-invented how you look at 3D gaming and it was a real challenge to think your way through all the puzzles. GLaDOS is quite possibly the funniest antagonist ever. The worst thing about this game is that the net got over saturated with “The cake is a lie!” jokes that ARE NOT FUCKING FUNNY! Pretty much everything else about it is genius. It’s just a pity that it’s a bit too short.

69: Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow (Nintendo DS) – My favorite of the Castlevania games. Feels like there isn’t much more to say about it, but I try to compare it to all of the other games, both the ones that came before it and the ones that came after. The conclusion I come to, for me, is that this got the concept perfected while still adding fresh things. I think they went too far with how Portrait of Ruin took the concept to another place in the next game and from what I’ve played of Order of Ecclesia, I don’t like that one at all, even though the higher difficulty is interesting. Dawn of Sorrow has the perfect blend of difficulty, hammy story, interesting weapons and abilities while also introducing the touch screen function in a good way for the boss fights.

68: Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory (PC) – Fantastic sneaking action here. As far as pre-Conviction Splinter Cell games go, this is the one you want. It’s beautiful, you get a good set of moves, the missions are interesting and the story is kept engaging. All the while the atmosphere stays at its peak throughout the whole game.

67: MechWarrior 4: Vengeance (PC) – Good shit, although the mech building stuff was a bit too simplified for my taste. Can be downloaded for free these days, I think. The story was fairly interesting and a bit more personally engaging than the rest of the games, but as a BattleTech nut, I don’t need a basic “they killed my family, now I want revenge” story. I understand that people who don’t know BattleTech inside and out would like that kind of story better, to motivate them to play a bit more, but I don’t need it.

66: FreeSpace 2 (PC) – The most epic space action flight sim ever created. This game has so much atmosphere and such perfect flight sim controls that beyond ridiculous. It’s too bad that there has never been a sequel to it, because the story was really interesting too. The music and sound design is still insanely good and would definitely hold up today.

65: Peggle (Xbox 360) – Second most addictive puzzle game I’ve ever played. You just can’t stop playing Peggle once you start. You just need to get through all of the puzzles and clear all the challenges. Trying to figure out what character is the best for each puzzle is a nice little facet, but mostly it’s just about making the perfect plays.

64: Meteos (Nintendo DS) – Most addictive handheld puzzle game I’ve ever played. This was the perfect game for me to buy for my DS early on, because it showed how uniquely you could use touch controls compared to the classic controller input of a D-pad and buttons. Even today with all the smartphones, you still can’t get as good responsiveness with your finger on an iPhone compared to this. It becomes a frenzy and you try to get all the pieces up in the air as more gets dumped on you.

63: Shadow Complex (Xbox 360) – Metroidvania in high definition. Shadow Complex intrigued me early on and when I found out that two books were being written to support and flesh out the story in conjunction with the game, I got even more excited. It has excellent gameplay and it’s a giant love letter to all the other Metroidvania games. If I have to say anything outright bad about it, the game is a bit short, but at least it’s short and sweet. The books by Orson Scott Card are good too.

62: Moonstone (Amiga 500) – Quite possibly the bloodiest game on the Amiga 500. This was so much fun to play along with three friends, each of you getting a knight that is really bad-ass. I see it as the spiritual predecessor to Castle Crashers, but this game has no humor whatsoever. All the enemies are really scary in their own right and you fear some of them a lot. The multiplayer dynamic makes the competition pretty exciting. The others know if you find something important and then they can go after you. Then it’s on and only a duel will settle it.

61: Blackhawk (SNES) – Also known as Blackthorne. Blizzard knows how to make solid, storydriven platform action and this grim tale just teems atmosphere. There is a nice progression of skill in how your gun gets upgraded every few levels and the puzzles forces you to play patiently and methodically, much like Flashback which is higher up on the list. Very engaging game.

After the next post, there will just be 50 games left. Insane numbers if you think about it, but there are a bunch of great games out there and I’ve missed a bunch of them too.

  1. doulos
    28 June, 2010 at 15:34

    Wow, I have not played a single one of these games.

    • 28 June, 2010 at 17:33

      I’d say that if you only try one of these, make that Portal. A lot of people are completely in love with it and it’s very unique. It’s an FPS in which the only gun you have isn’t a gun, but rather a portal-making-gun. With one button you can make a blue portal and with another button you can make an orange portal. Both lead to the other. So you can put a portal in the ground in front of you and another portal on a wall 200 feet away and if you look down into the “hole”/portal you just created, you look out through the hole 200 feet away. It also has a great charm to it.

  2. 28 June, 2010 at 18:34

    Yeah, this is the first of the lists where there isnt a single game that I have any real personal experience with.

    • 28 June, 2010 at 19:13

      Really? I thought Portal was one of those games that most gamers (at least in recent years) have tried.

      • 29 June, 2010 at 00:11

        Yeah, its the one game I’ve thought about giving a shot but never did. My old computer was giving me alot of issues and I didnt wanna spend the effort to fix it so I’ve missed out on quite a few games the past few years. But now that I have a brand new computer I’ve been playing some more again, HL2 + episodes and Mass Effect

      • 29 June, 2010 at 00:11

        Yeah, its the one game I’ve thought about giving a shot but never did. My old computer was giving me alot of issues and I didnt wanna spend the effort to fix it so I’ve missed out on quite a few games the past few years. But now that I have a brand new computer I’ve been playing some more again, HL2 + episodes and Mass Effect 1 and 2 have been finished so far. ๐Ÿ™‚
        Cant wait for episode 3 and ME 3.

  3. Johan
    30 June, 2010 at 08:46

    PEGGLE! Sooo adictive..

  4. 30 June, 2010 at 22:36

    Also, you need to hurry up and finish your list.
    I’m probably gonna buy the new xbox slim and I need to see what games I need to get for it to begin with. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Rich
    6 July, 2010 at 18:09

    I don’t get the appeal of Portal, I’ve really tried to like it; the premise and the puzzle solving ultimately wasn’t very rewarding or simulating for me – I guess I’m in a minority here.

  6. 11 July, 2010 at 19:12

    Is a great job…Super

  7. 19 July, 2010 at 15:48

    I actually never played through all of Portal. On the 17th or possibly 18th level, I struggled for quite a while until I finally nailed the hard bit – and then I messed it upp and fell into the acid pool on an easy jump. That kind of bummed me out, and I haven’t played it since. Though I probably should – like you say, it does feel like gamer canon.

  8. eek
    11 August, 2010 at 19:36

    If you haven’t played Freespace 2 now is a good a time as ever…
    You can get it dirt cheap from gog.com. ( http://www.gog.com/en/gamecard/freespace_2 )
    The you install the excellent Freespace Open to bring some tender 21th century love to it.
    http://www.fsoinstaller.com
    http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php?board=7.0
    There is said to be many great mods available for it as well, though I have no personal experience of them:
    http://www.moddb.com/games/freespace-2/mods

    Being some kind of gamer and not owning at least the Orange Box from Valve is downright irresponsible. And if you don’t you might as well get the complete Valve pack while you’re at it – it’s more than worth it.
    store.steampowered.com/sub/2546
    If you won’t have much time to play during the autumn you might want to consider waiting for the inevitable christmas sale, of course. It will surely knock at least 30% off the price. But even at full price it should be a no brainer, mind you.

  9. doulos
    18 August, 2010 at 19:22

    Soo…you going to finish up the list ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • 18 August, 2010 at 20:00

      It’s coming, it’s coming ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve just had a lot of real life ™ happening this summer and now I’m busy with job hunting and other stuff that’s keeping my mind occupied. But it’s coming. I just need things to settle down a bit first.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

