Home > Games, Movies, Music, Myself > My first legit headphones

My first legit headphones

Today I ordered a pair of headphones. I’ve bought headphones before. Small $15 earplug pop-ins that are integrated into a necklace to hold your mp3 player. They don’t count. They’re not proper headphones. Today I ordered proper headphones. Apparently they’re called DJ headphones. Yeah, that’s how in the know I am about this.

The reason is that my neighbor has been banging on my wall if I listen to a podcast. It’s completely fucking ridiculous that I can’t even listen to Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant talk shit about Karl Pilkington without my neighbor banging on the wall after 10 PM. It’s a goddamn podcast and I hardly have the volume up high. And this apartment complex is supposed to have good isolation. That has been the reason why I haven’t played a lot of games late at night the last few months. I’ve had plenty of opportunity, but I haven’t done anything with that time and opportunity to entertain myself with my Xbox.

That’s why I went and placed an order for a pair of proper headphones. I figure I can sit there and listen to my games without having to worry about having my wall broken down. What pisses me off even more about my idiot neighbors is that they’re completely clueless about how their kids are INCREDIBLY annoying, yelling their asses off just outside my balcony. Do I complain about it? No, I don’t. I should start to even out the odds.

Anyway, I looked around and first I thought I should get a pair of Sony MDR-XB400. Yeah, says about as much to me. They’re headphones, they’re black. Apparently they’re also not very good. Then I started looking at different KOSS headphones. Couldn’t really find a pair that appealed to me that much. Threw out a few tweets to people who might be in the know and got a tip about the brand Skullcandy. Found some interesting models in my price range and a few a bit above my price range that were really interesting. Read a whole bunch of tests and customer reviews and really wanted those a bit more expensive ones. Then I got a call that I got the job I interviewed for yesterday, so I figured “fuck it, I can take that extra $20 hit to my wallet. I got these:

Skullcandy G.I. Red Print

I’m not a very extravagant person, especially not when it comes to clothing and style. I was very close to ordering a black model. But I figured this would be interesting. I can use them for my mp3 player but I will be using them mostly at home. According to the listing on the site where I ordered them, I should be getting a 3m extension cord so I won’t have to buy an extra just to be able to connect it to my receiver for the Xbox. It should arrive in the mail on Monday or Tuesday.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

