Home > Books, Review > Two books

Two books

Hi there. Been a while. Moving along.

I’ve started reading two books and I haven’t really gotten that far into them, but I still wanted to post a tidbit about them.

The first one is called Remainder by Tom McCarthy and it’s really got its own voice. I’ve never really read a book quite like it in how it talks directly to the reader in a more personal way, instead of just being a generic narrative. The voice of the novel reasons back and forth and tries to include the reader in almost casually conversational ways. It’s about a man who’s gotten a huge court settlement because he got a head injury in a vague accident and became semi-amnesiac. Supposedly he will start spending money to recreate memories, but I haven’t gotten that far yet. I really like it so far though.

The second one is a book that I started reading over a year ago. It’s Douglas Coupland’s The Gum Thief and I recently picked it back up again. I started reading it the last time before I started writing my English thesis paper, but I ended up writing about Coupland’s Generation X instead of The Gum Thief, so I put TGF away until now. It’s about two really cynical people, Roger and Bethany, who work at an office supply store and start communicating through a diary. Roger is older, pretty much a failure at life, while Bethany is young and intrigued by Roger’s experience. At least that’s what I’ve gleaned from it so far. As with Remainder, I haven’t gotten that far into The Gum Thief yet. But it’s written in Coupland’s signature, witty prose and the sarcasm is tangible on every page.

There, now I have a reason to write more about them when I’ve finished them. I’ve told myself that I should read more books this year, so hopefully this can get me going. I’m also working on updating the Top 300 Games list.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

